I Was Thinking…

I have been in the western Denver area for the past five days or so. My intention was to stay here about 4 or 5 days then depart but nothing is ever so easy. And by that I don’t mean my stay here has been anything but easy, but rather nothing rarely goes as smooth as I hope.

I have been wracked with an inner bow stirrings that has not left me sitting quite so high and mighty as I would have expected after nearly 2 ½ months of disabling memory and “paxil” issues that I thought should be enough to keep me off balance, questioning, doubtful, and without clear purpose that I began to think it wasn’t going to happen. Well, it finally started giving way and I began to reach out somewhat, hoping for the next adventure when the next challenge has crept into the theatre. All I can say is that this should be the new norm: not being able to get my feet under me.

I have come into rain spattered central Colorado thinking all would be fine, but upon leaving the San Luis Valley, things have only gotten worse. But not to fret. I KNOW it is temporary, and I will be okay, given a change of shift in weather or a reduction in elevation—-anything to shake me loose. But please don’t tell me to accept diarrhea, forget my memory, fall over asleep right after I am up and about, and roll over and go dead. I can’t. I may feel like it, but it is not right nor healthy.

So I am faking it. I am having my nephew, John, make gifts for me to pass on to my friends, both male and female. He is a natural and I can oversee what he does. He makes knives out of antlers, and arrows simulating the real thing, he makes moccasins out of moose, elk, mule deer, muskrat, coyote, and a number of other furs. He makes purses, hats, and wind chimes out of strips of leather, feathers, and thread. All his work is good, and I am thinking that most of his work would go appreciated because it is as close to authentic as it can get without actually having been used for such.

In the meantime, cousin Mike and I have talked about doing more than a 100 miles of hiking trail a year from now, in Spain and Portugal. It all sounds good. Mike has spent at least 3 weeks on the Camino in Spain already just a year ago so he does have an idea. Yes, under the circumstances, it all sounds a little fantastical but I am the first one to say you must have the idea before you can pursue it; you must have the seeds before they can grow. It’s a great option, so why not…short of death or seriousness illness.

I Was Thinking…

One thought on “I Was Thinking…

  1. Leo van den Bulck says:

    Camino de Santiago? I believe it’s a very nice trail to do even if you’re not religious … beautiful landscapes (not so mountainous to be honest but fascinating, I’ve been in the area a long time ago) and very picturesque towns, little guesthouses all along the trail. Not a bad idea for a few weeks.

    Are you into cycling (well I never heard you talking about it)? Then the Catalonia province (also in Spain) is a fantastic area, you can cycle all the way to the Pyrenees mountains. Yeah and if you would go there be sure not to skip Barcelona. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment